Writers Guild Announces Awards Nominations

If there’s one thing that is a certainty when the new year rolls around is that awards season starts to heat up. While we’ve just under two weeks until the Academy Award nominations are announced, some of Hollywood’s biggest filmmaker guilds are starting to announce the nominees for their own awards, awards which often serve as indicators for how the Academy Awards will be handed out in February.

The Writer’s Guild of America announced their awards nominees today. Interestingly, though, some titles that have a good chance of receiving an Oscar nod were deemed ineligible for a Guild award nomination based on the Guild’s rules, so don’t be surprised that you don’t see Toy Story 3, King’s Speech, How To Train Your Dragon, Winter’s Bone and Never Let Me Go listed below.

The Writers Guild of America award nominees are –


  • Black Swan – Screenplay by Mark Heyman and Andres Heinz and John McLaughlin; Story by Andres Heinz; Fox Searchlight
  • The Fighter – Screenplay by Scott Silver and Paul Tamasy & Eric Johnson; Story by Keith Dorrington & Paul Tamasy & Eric Johnson; Paramount Pictures
  • Inception – Written by Christopher Nolan; Warner Bros.
  • The Kids Are All Right – Written by Lisa Cholodenko & Stuart Blumberg; Focus Features
  • Please Give – Written by Nicole Holofcener; Sony Pictures Classics


  • 127 Hours – Screenplay by Danny Boyle & Simon Beaufoy; Based on the book Between a Rock and a Hard Place by Aron Ralston; Fox Searchlight
  • I Love You Phillip Morris – Written by John Requa & Glenn Ficarra; Based on the book by Steven McVicker; Roadside Attractions
  • The Social Network – Screenplay by Aaron Sorkin; Based on the book The Accidental Billionaires by Ben Mezrich; Sony Pictures
  • The Town – Screenplay by Peter Craig and Ben Affleck & Aaron Stockard; Based on the novel Prince of Thieves by Chuck Hogan; Warner Bros.
  • True Grit – Screenplay by Joel Coen & Ethan Coen; Based on the novel by Charles Portis; Paramount Pictures


  • Enemies of the People – Written, Directed, Filmed and Produced by Rob Lemkin and Thet Sambath; International Film Circuit
  • Freedom Riders – Written, Produced and Directed by Stanley Nelson; International Film Circuit
  • Gasland – Written and Directed by Josh Fox; HBO Documentary Films and International WOW Company
  • Inside Job – Produced, Written and Directed by Charles Ferguson; Co-written by Chad Beck, Adam Bolt; Sony Pictures Classics
  • The Two Escobars – Written by Michael Zimbalist, Jeff Zimbalist; ESPN Films
  • Who Is Harry Nilsson (And Why Is Everybody Talkin’ About Him)? – Written and Directed by John Scheinfeld; Lorber Films

The Writers Guild Awards will be handed out on February 5.

Avatar für Rich Drees
About Rich Drees 7217 Articles
A film fan since he first saw that Rebel Blockade Runner fleeing the massive Imperial Star Destroyer at the tender age of 8 and a veteran freelance journalist with twenty-five years experience writing about film and pop culture. He is a member of the Philadelphia Film Critics Circle.
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments