ArgoBenAffleckThe new year means only one thing to movie buffs – awards season has started. And while we wait for the various nominees for the Academy Awards to be announced next week, the Producers Guild have announced their nominees for their own awards. As you can see from the list below, there aren’t too many surprises as a number of those films have been getting positive notices from both critics and audiences alike. I will say that I am pleasantly surprised to see the James Bond film Skyfall amongst the nominees, though I would say that the film’s near universal appeal and praise comes more from the producers getting out of the way and allowing director Sam Mendes to do his thing rather than from any major input of their own.

The winners of the Producers Guild Awards will be announced on January 26th.

The nominees are –

The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures:

  • Argo (Warner Bros.)
    Producers: Ben Affleck, George Clooney, Grant Heslov
  • Beasts of the Southern Wild (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
    Producers: Michael Gottwald, Dan Janvey, Josh Penn
  • Django Unchained (The Weinstein Company)
    Producers: Reginald Hudlin, Pilar Savone, Stacey Sher
  • Les Misérables (Universal Pictures)
    Producers: Tim Bevan & Eric Fellner, Debra Hayward, Cameron Mackintosh
  • Life of Pi (Fox 2000 Pictures)
    Producers: Ang Lee, Gil Netter, David Womark
  • Lincoln (Touchstone Pictures)
    Producers: Kathleen Kennedy, Steven Spielberg
  • Moonrise Kingdom (Focus Features)
    Producers: Wes Anderson & Scott Rudin, Jeremy Dawson, Steven Rales
  • Silver Linings Playbook (The Weinstein Company)
    Producers: Bruce Cohen, Donna Gigliotti, Jonathan Gordon
  • Skyfall (Columbia Pictures)
    Producers: Barbara Broccoli, Michael G. Wilson
  • Zero Dark Thirty (Columbia Pictures)
    Producers: Kathryn Bigelow, Mark Boal, Megan Ellison

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures:

  • Brave (Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures)
    Producer: Katherine Sarafian
  • Frankenweenie (Walt Disney Pictures)
    Producers: Allison Abbate, Tim Burton
  • ParaNorman (Focus Features)
    Producers: Travis Knight, Arianne Sutner
  • Rise of the Guardians (Paramount Pictures)
    Producers: Nancy Bernstein, Christina Steinberg
  • Wreck-It Ralph (Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures)
    Producer: Clark Spencer
Avatar für Rich Drees
About Rich Drees 6999 Articles
A film fan since he first saw that Rebel Blockade Runner fleeing the massive Imperial Star Destroyer at the tender age of 8 and a veteran freelance journalist with twenty years experience writing about film and pop culture. He is a member of the Philadelphia Film Critics Circle.
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments