Everything Everywhere All At Once
Image via A24

Everything Everywhere All At Once was the big winner at the 2023 Film Independent Spirit Awards this evening, taking home seven awards out of its eight nominations including Best Lead Performance for Michelle Yeoh, Best Supporting Performance for Ke Huy Quan and Best Picture.

Director Todd Phillip’s Tar went into the evening with a total of seven nominations but only took home the award for Best Cinematography for Florian Hoffmeister.

This year was the first year that the award show used non-gendered acting categories, so in the Best Performance category, winner Yeoh was i nomination alongside the likes of both Cate Blanchett, Mia Goth, Aubrey Plaza and Regina Hall but also Paul Mescal, Jeremy Pope and Taylor Russell.

Best international film went to the Pakistan/USA co-production Joyland while the award for best documentary went to director Laura Poitras’s portrait of photographer and activist Nan Goldin, All The Beauty and the Bloodshed. John Patton Ford took home the award for best first screenplay for the Aubrey Plaz-starring Emily The Criminal.

Here is the complete list of winners –

Best Feature
Everything Everywhere All at Once

Best Director
Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert – Everything Everywhere All at Once

Best Lead Performance
Michelle Yeoh – Everything Everywhere All at Once

Best Supporting Performance
Ke Huy Quan – Everything Everywhere All at Once

Best Breakthrough Performance
Stephanie Hsu – Everything Everywhere All at Once

Best Screenplay
Everything Everywhere All at Once – Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert

Best First Screenplay
Emily the Criminal – John Patton Ford

Best First Feature

John Cassavetes Award (Given to the best feature made for under $1,000,000)
The Cathedral

Best Cinematography
Tár – Florian Hoffmeister

Best Documentary
All the Beauty and the Bloodshed

Best Editing
Everything Everywhere All at Once – Paul Rogers

Robert Altman Award (Given to one film’s director, casting director and ensemble cast)
Women Talking

Best International Film

Producers Award
Tory Lenosky

Someone to Watch Award
Nikyatu Jusu – Nanny

The Truer Than Fiction Award
Reid Davenport – I Didn’t See You There

Avatar für Rich Drees
About Rich Drees 7203 Articles
A film fan since he first saw that Rebel Blockade Runner fleeing the massive Imperial Star Destroyer at the tender age of 8 and a veteran freelance journalist with twenty-five years experience writing about film and pop culture. He is a member of the Philadelphia Film Critics Circle.
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments