DIARY OF A TEENAGE GIRL Leads IFP Gotham Independent Film Awards Nominations


Awards season kicked off today with with the announcement of the nominees for the 25h annual IFP Gotham Independent Film Awards Nominations. Leading the pack of nominees for the eight awards that the group of twenty writers, critics and programmers pick from is the drama Diary Of A Teenage Girl with four nominations including Feature and Screenplay and the Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director award. The transgender drama Tangerine also received multiple nominations in the Best Feature and Actor categories.

Although recent films like Birdman, Inside Llewyn Davis and Dallas Buyers Club have gone on to win at the Academy Awards, the IFP Gotham Independent Film Awards nominees do tend to highlight well-received independent and documentary films that often get overlooked during the rest of awards season.

The 25th IFP Gotham Independent Film Awards will take place November 30 in New York City.

Here is a complete list of the nominees –

Best Feature
The Diary of a Teenage Girl
Heaven Knows What

Best Documentary
Approaching the Elephant
Cartel Land
Heart of a Dog
Listen to Me Marlon
The Look of Silence

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director
Desiree Akhavan – Appropriate Behavior
Jonas Carpigano – Mediterranea
Marielle Heller – The Diary of a Teenage Girl
John Magary – The Mend
Josh Mond – James White

Best Screenplay
Carol – Phyllis Nagy
The Diary of a Teenage Girl – Marielle Heller
Love & Mercy – Oren Moverman and Michael Alan Lerner
Spotlight – Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer
While We’re Young – Noah Baumbach

Best Actor
Christopher Abbott – James White
Kevin Corrigan – Results
Paul Dano – Love & Mercy
Peter Sarsgaard – Experimenter
Michael Shannon – 99 Homes

Best Actress
Cate Blanchett – Carol
Blythe Danner – I’ll See You in My Dreams
Brie Larson – Room
Bel Powley – The Diary of a Teenage Girl
Lily Tomlin – Grandma
Kristen Wiig – Welcome to Me

Breakthrough Actor
Rory Culkin – Gabriel
Arielle Holmes – Heaven Knows What
Lola Kirke – Mistress America
Kitana Kiki Rodriguez – Tangerine
Mya Taylor – Tangerine

Special Jury Award for Ensemble Cast: Mark Ruffalo, Michael Keaton, Rachel McAdams, Liev Schreiber, John Slattery, Stanley Tucci and Brian D’Arcy James for their ensemble work in “Spotlight.”

Avatar für Rich Drees
About Rich Drees 6968 Articles
A film fan since he first saw that Rebel Blockade Runner fleeing the massive Imperial Star Destroyer at the tender age of 8 and a veteran freelance journalist with twenty years experience writing about film and pop culture. He is a member of the Philadelphia Film Critics Circle.
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments