THE FAVOURITE And FIRST REFORMED Lead Gotham Awards Nominees

We’re still more than two months to the end of the calendar year, but the 2018-2019 awards season has now begun with the announcement of the nominees for the annual Gotham Awards.

Director Yorgos Lanthimos’ The Favourite and Paul Schrader’s First Reformed led the pack of nominees with three nods each including Best Picture. They will compete in that category against Madeline’s Madeline, The Rider and If Beale Street Could Talk.

Indie hits Eighth Grade, Hereditary and Sorry To Bother You all received two nominations apiece. You can see the complete list of nominees below.

Now in its 28th year, the Gotham Awards are presented by the Independent Filmmaker Project for outstanding achievement in independent cinema. Last year’s Best Screenplay, Audience Award and Breakthrough Director winner Get Out went on to nab four Academy award nominations, winning Best Original Screenplay for writer/director Jordan Peele.

Positioning itself as the first major ceremony of the season has given the Gotham Awards the ability to catapult its winners into the overall conversation that goes from now until the night of the Academy Awards.

The Gotham Awards will be handed in New York City on Monday, November 26.

There are 129 days until the Academy Awards.

The complete list of nominees –

Best Feature
First Reformed
The Favorite
Madeline’s Madeline
If Beale Street Could Talk
The Rider

Best Documentary
Bisbee ‘17
Hale County This Morning, This Evening
Minding the Gap
Won’t You Be My Neighbor?

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award
Bo Burnham -Eighth Grade
Ari Aster – Hereditary
Boots Riley – Sorry to Bother You
Crystal Moselle – Skate Kitchen
Jennifer Fox – The Tale

Best Screenplay
Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara – The Favorite
Cory Finley – Thoroughbreds
Paul Schrader – First Reformed
Tamara Jenkins – Private Life
Andrew Bujalski – Support the Girls

Best Actor
Adam Driver – “BlacKkKlansman
Ben Foster – Leave No Trace
Richard E. Grant – Can You Ever Forgive Me?
Ethan Hawke – First Reformed
Lakeith Stanfield – Sorry to Bother You

Best Actress
Glenn Close – The Wife
Toni Collette – Hereditary
Kathryn Hahn – Private Life
Regina Hall – Support the Girls
Michelle Pfeiffer – Where is Kyra?

Special Jury Award For Ensemble Performance
The Favourite – Olivia Colman, Emma Stone, and Rachel Weisz

Breakthrough Actor
Thomasin Harcourt – Leave No Trace
Helena Howard – Madeline’s Madeline
Kiki Layne – If Beale Street Could Talk
Elsie Fisher – Eighth Grade
Yalitza Aparicio – Roma

Avatar für Rich Drees
About Rich Drees 7192 Articles
A film fan since he first saw that Rebel Blockade Runner fleeing the massive Imperial Star Destroyer at the tender age of 8 and a veteran freelance journalist with twenty-five years experience writing about film and pop culture. He is a member of the Philadelphia Film Critics Circle.
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments