Marvel’s “Phase One” Box Set Gets New Release Date

Marvel Studio’s recently delayed “Phase One” blu-ray set, comprising all of their films from Iron Man to The Avengers, finally has a new release date – April 2, 2012. We also now have a hint as to what some of the extras in the box will be, thanks to studio chief Kevin Feige, who told Entertainment Weekly

We spent an embarrassing amount of time compiling the ‘Shield Files’ included in the box set to be sure that each character’s file was full of great, movie-accurate props and Easter eggs, which help tie all of the Phase one [Marvel Comics Universe] films together.

(Sounds like we’re going to have to do another draft of our Marvel Cinematic Universe Timeline.)

Feige also stated that there will some new, previously unseen cut scenes from the films in the set.

We went back to the editor’s assembly of each film and discovered some rare moments that dropped out of the films early on and had not been released on prior discs

Rounding things out will be some teaser material for Marvel’s upcoming Phase Two films – Iron Man 3, Thor: The Dark World, Captain America: The Winter Soldier, Guardians Of The Galaxy, The Avengers 2 and possibly Ant Man.

To whet your appetite for the new material, here is an alternate ending for Thor. If you listen closely to that dialogue, you’ll hear a reference to another Marvel Comics Universe intelligence organization, S.W.O.R.D. A pity that alternate scenes aren’t really canon for the Marvel Cinematic Universe,though I would not be surprised if S.W.O.R.D. were to eventually make their way on screen.

Avatar für Rich Drees
About Rich Drees 6943 Articles
A film fan since he first saw that Rebel Blockade Runner fleeing the massive Imperial Star Destroyer at the tender age of 8 and a veteran freelance journalist with twenty years experience writing about film and pop culture.
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments